APPETIZER · vegetable recipes · Vegetable Soup · Vegetable Soups

Sweet Potato Soup

_DSC0253_DSC0271

I got sweet potatoes from the CSA farm several weeks ago and tried to fix it out which dish I should make. I was also very happy to spending time with my family including my little nephews from Thailand so that I was a little busy.

Finally, I am so glad to have time updating my blog and preparing for my cooking classes on Monday. This time of the year on a cold day, a bowl of warm delicious soup sounds great to me. I found an Autumn Carrot and Sweet Potato Soup recipe from onceuponachef.com. Jennifer Segal is a cookbook author and she also explained about the words “sweet potato” and “yam” interchangeably. I also found the article on ncsweetpotatoes.com, stated “today the U.S. Department of Agriculture requires labels with the term ‘yam’ to be accompanied by the term ‘sweet potato’, and in order to distinguish it from the white variety everyone was accustomed to, producers and shippers chose the English form of the African word ‘nyami’ and labeled them ‘yams.”’ That was really interesting article.

Anyway, I really love my sweet potato soup and hope you give it a try ka.

Ingredients 

2 pounds sweet potatoes, peeled, chopped

2 leeks, used only white and light green parts, sliced

1 carrot, peeled, chopped

1 onion, chopped

2 garlic cloves, chopped

salt and pepper to taste

6 – 7 cups chicken broth or vegetable stock

1 cup milk

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 tablespoon butter

pinch of curry powder and turmeric

shaved fresh Parmesan cheese for garnish

flat-leaf parsley leaves for garnish

Preparation 

  1. In a large soup pot, melt butter and oil over medium heat. Add onions, leeks, and garlic and stirring until soft and translucent. Sprinkle a pinch of curry powder, turmeric, salt, and pepper.
  2. Add carrots, sweet potatoes, chicken broth and bring to a boil. Cover and simmer over low heats until veggies are tender about 25 minutes.
  3. Add milk, salt, and pepper, and using a wooden spoon to check and make sure, they are soft already. Then using a stick blender or a food processor to puree the soup until smooth and creamy. Adjust the seasoning if necessary. The soup will thicken up, so you may add more milk or water to thin it out.
  4. Ladle soup into bowls and garnish with shaved Parmesan cheese and parsley leaves. Enjoy ka!
_DSC0249
Enjoy ka!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.